Follow Us on Twitter

The King's Head Theatre's West End Season

Preview by Lizzie Guilfoyle

TWO of the King’s Head Theatre’s productions – La boheme and Strangers in Between – are transferring to Trafalgar Studios.

The first, Puccini’s timeless classic La bohème, by Adam Spreadbury-Maher and Becca Marriott, runs from December 6, 2017 to January 6, 2018.

Renowned for his inventive, contemporary reinterpretations of classic theatre and opera, Adam Spreadbury-Maher focuses upon the quintessential quartet – Mimi, Musetta, Rodolfo (Ralph) and Marcello (Mark) – relocating the story from Puccini’s original early 19th century setting to present day East London.

The production will lay bare the dangerous and damaging effects of co-dependent relationships against a backdrop of spiralling rents and social media.

The cast includes Becca Marriott as Mimi, Matthew Kimble and Roger Paterson sharing the role of Ralph, Matthew Palmer and Thomas Isherwood sharing the role of Mark, Honey Rouhani as Musetta and Lizzie Holmes playing both Mimi and Musetta.

La boheme is followed – from January 10 to February 3, 2018 – by Strangers in Between, the award-winning Australian play written by Tommy Murphy.

Shane is sixteen, cute and scared. He’s just fled his home in rural Australia for downtown Sydney. Adrift among the lonely hearts and heady thrills of King’s Cross, Shane attempts to navigate the troubled waters of his past toward a brighter future.

Told with humour and sensitivity, Tommy Murphy’s critically acclaimed drama of friendship, sex and escapism offers an unflinching look at the highs and lows of being gay in modern Australia.

The cast includes Roly Botha as Shane, Dan Hunter as Will and Stephen Connery-Brown as Peter.

Also at Trafalgar Studios: Jamie Lloyd’s production of Alexi Kaye Campbell’s Apologia, starring Stockard Channing (until November 18); the world première of the two-handed black comedy Le Grand Mort, starring Julian Clary (until October 28); and Patrick Marber’s The Red Lion, starring Stephen Tompkinson (November 1 to December 2, 2017).